The 2 Most Important Days In Your Life

8 07 2013

The 2 Most Important Days In Your Life

One is obvious. The other? It will help you enormously as you lead your company.

Photo by Archive Photos/Getty Images

American baseball player Jackie Robinson (1919 – 1972) of the Brooklyn Dodgers in Miami, Florida, circa 1950.

I just got back from a road trip to Cooperstown, New York, where I introduced my two young daughters to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

My daughter Charlotte asked me who my favorite baseball player in the Hall of Fame was–and, after explaining that none of the current or recent New York Mets were in the Hall–I told her my favorite was Jackie Robinson. I chose Jackie not because of the ball player he was, though obviously he was an excellent one. I chose Jackie for the person he was, and for the influence he had on others, and on the world.

Jackie Robinson said: “A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives.”

Mark Twain said: “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

These are two of the most powerful quotes I’ve ever read, and I try to live by both every day. I believe I was born to help build a more “likeable” world for my children, my family, and those who I affect through my writing, speaking, teaching, and leading. I believe I was born to help my children and others become more transparent, authentic leaders who put others’ needs first.

Why were you born? What is your purpose in life? 

If you know the answers to those two questions, you’re off to a great start, and I’ll simply suggest that you remind yourself the answers every day.

If you’re not sure yet, it’s never too late–or too early to figure it out.

via inc.com

Dave Kerpen is the CEO of Likeable Local. He is also the cofounder and chairman of Likeable Media and the New York Times bestselling author of Likeable Social Media and Likeable Business@davekerpen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

