Journey vs. Destination

27 12 2012

lego_carTonight I was building Lego cars with my 3 year old. (My strength is not taking something from 2-D and turning it into a 3-D object, but we were having a nice time working together. And hey, how hard could a child’s toy be to put together?) It came with a nice little instruction booklet that gave me step by step instructions. Kenny was very excited about putting on the tires. He kept asking, “Mommy, when can I put on the tires? Mommy, NOW can I put on the tires?” We had gone through about 6 or 7 of the pages, so I thought I’d flip ahead to see when I could put on the tires.

And that was the beginning of the end. Rather than being excited about spending this quality time together, I focused on the result. I forgot about the process, the journey, the step by step. And I became overwhelmed- very overwhelmed- at how many more pages this little one and I had to do.

I’m glad that I can’t flip through the pages of my life. Someone once asked me if I’d like to know how many more days I had to live, and I had to really think about it. But I know I’d forget about the process, the journey, the step by step and I’d only focus on the end result. Rather than be thankful for each day I have NOW, I’d be waiting for the end to come. I’d like to slow down and enjoy the ride. Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

And the car? We put that aside for a little while and did a puzzle. God willing, we’ll work on it again tomorrow.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

