but a breath…

13 12 2012

I can’t help but think about endings right now; maybe it’s because the year is coming to a close. Maybe it’s because we’re coming to the End of An Age according to the Mayans. Or maybe it’s because every day that I drive on I-88 I see the number of traffic deaths splashed across the tollway signs.Image (Mondays are the worst; the number seems to increase exponentially over the weekend.) It’s a constant reminder to me that endings are real, that those numbers were real human lives, and that at any time that number could include me.

Those people didn’t wake up thinking it was their last day on earth. I don’t think we don’t ever fully grasp how precarious and how precious life really is. Our lives sometimes seem like they will go on forever, but we’re backwards in our thinking. It’s eternity that goes on forever; our lives are but a breath.

I don’t know if I can ever wholly appreciate this gift of life I’ve been given. But there are a few things that I know: I know that I have a Savior and that He is a living God. I know that He never leaves me. I know that He strengthens me through His Word and Sacraments.  I know that nothing that I ever do could compares with what He has already done. I know that He loves me so much more than I can possibly imagine. And I know that when my life has come to an end, He will call me by my name, and welcome me into His Kingdom, and that my eternity will have finally begun.

Actions

Information

One response

14 12 2012
Ken

you got it right. well done.

Leave a Reply

