IHSA Volleyball Championships- November 10, 2012

14 11 2012

I had the cool opportunity the other day to announce for the IHSA Volleyball Championships for 1A, 2A, 3A, and 4A divisions in Bloomington/Normal, IL. I used to do some announcing for the Purdue Boilermakers out of West Lafayette, IN, after having played there for 4 years. It was really fun for me to see some of the other side of volleyball – the production side. A few years later I interviewed for the BIG 10 Network, and thankfully didn’t get the job…I don’t know what I was thinking. I can barely function right now with two little ones and a full time job. I don’t have time for a weekly announcing job as well! But anyway, that’s how the IHSA got my information.

I was the “color analyst”, and Michelle (in the picture with me) was the “play by play” commentator. I had never worked with her before but she was fantastic! She did a great job of leading me in the conversation. My job was to add some interesting information (not sure how successful I was in that) for example the technical side of a play, strategy, or athletic move. Once I couldn’t help myself and commented on the coach’s beautiful shoes. (At that point I felt like I was in the movie Steel Magnolias; those of you who have seen it know what I’m referring to.)

They said about 60,000 fans tuned into the broadcast. It was a full day of volleyball and a little unnerving at times but totally worth it. I feel like if I can take a few risks it makes my life more interesting and I feel a little bit more alive. I definitely had my moments, thinking, “What the heck did I get myself into?” but I think it worked out in the end. At least I hope the 60,000 think so. Congratulations to all 16 teams who made it into the finals, and God willing, maybe I’ll see you next year!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

