Wild Things – the Art of Nurturing Boys

7 09 2011

Earlier today my friend asked me, “Do you know the definition of boys?” The answer: noise with dirt on it.” That’s so right on. In an attempt to be a better mother to my two boys,  I’m reading Wild Things, the Art of Nurturing Boys and came across this passage. Thought I’d share.

“Much of the self-respect and confidence a boy has when he enters manhood comes from the quality of his home life growing up. Mothers play a vital role in this process. They give boys a sense of acceptance and significance that can only come  from a mother. A solid and affectionate relationship with his mother gives a boy the platform of emotional intimacy, relational empathy, and a sensitivity he needs to develop mature and secure relationships as an adult. Even more, a boy’s relationship with his mother is largely responsible for shaping his view of femininity. Will he respect women? Will he honor them? Will he use his strength for their good? Will he be able and willing to share his tenderness with them? A mother is an influential guide when it comes to teaching a boy about women… and about his own masculinity, too.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 09 2011
jennifercannonlo

Linda,
This was so uplifting to read. Some times I feel like a “crazy” mom when they dig another hole in the backyard, or break out the tools in the garage. I can go on and on. But I do see glimpses of my boys sensitivity as mentioned in the book. I will have to borrow it when you are done. Another good one is “Bringing Up Boys” by Dr. James Dobson. My husband’s definition of boys… boundless energy, no focus/direction. Boys like to act before they think!

7 09 2011
kate becvar

Thanks for that excerpt! It really makes me want to be more intentional too in my daily interactions with my little guy – to make sure that I can answer those questions! You get caught up in the changing diapers and picking up trucks and you forget sometimes that you have been given the awesome responsibility of guiding the formation of a person!

Proverbs 22:6
Train up a child in the way he should go,
Even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Leave a Reply

